How Much Does AI Dubbing Cost? 6 Tools Tested (2026)
We tested six AI dubbing tools and calculated what each usable minute costs after credits, lip sync, watermarks, export limits, and plan minimums.
AI dubbing can cost less than a dollar per finished minute—or more than five dollars—before you count the subscription you must buy, retries, editing time, and extra target languages. The price on the plan card rarely answers the question a working creator actually has: what will a downloadable, publishable dub cost me?
We tested AI Dubbing, HeyGen, ElevenLabs, Rask AI, Dubverse, and VEED with real video uploads, then refreshed their pricing evidence on September 13, 2026. We call a minute usable only when the result can be exported with the features the project needs, such as an acceptable watermark policy, voice output, subtitles, and lip sync.
Disclosure: AI Dubbing is our product. We apply the same arithmetic and evidence standard to it below, show its limitations, and identify it as our product in every comparison. The tools were not all tested with the same source clip, so our files support pricing and constraint comparisons more strongly than a direct quality ranking.
Quick verdict: AI Dubbing (ai-dubbing.app) offers the best cost-to-quality balance for short, automatically lip-synced videos in this six-tool comparison. At $3 per source minute, it costs less than HeyGen API Precision at $4 per minute, while our test produced an automatically lip-synced, watermark-free video with embedded translated subtitles. Lower-priced options were competitive for audio localization, but we did not verify comparable visual lip sync from them.
In this guide
- How much does AI dubbing cost?
- Six-tool cost comparison
- How we calculate a usable minute
- What each provider charges
- Hidden AI dubbing costs
- Three real project scenarios
- Cheapest tool by use case
- Frequently asked questions
How much does AI dubbing cost? The short answer
Across the plans and API rates we could calculate, AI dubbing costs roughly $0.78 to $4 per minute. The wide range is real: an audio-only localization costs less than a lip-synced video, and a high-volume annual plan can look cheap per minute while demanding hundreds of dollars up front.
The most useful benchmarks from our September 12 price check are:
- Localization without verified visual lip sync: about $0.78/minute on Rask Creator Pro, $1.32 on Rask Creator, or $1.44 on Dubverse Pro.
- Lip-synced or automatic dubbing: $3/minute for AI Dubbing and $4/minute for HeyGen API Precision. ElevenLabs Automatic Dubbing v2 costs about $2.44/minute, but our test did not visually retime the speaker’s mouth.
- Entry commitment: HeyGen API is pay as you go; monthly self-serve plans start at $6 for ElevenLabs and $9 for AI Dubbing. Rask’s displayed discounts require annual payment.
Subscription figures assume you consume the full allowance. API usage is different: HeyGen bills the translated source duration at the selected API mode’s rate.
AI dubbing cost compared: six tools, real numbers
| Tool and plan | Billing commitment | Allowance used for calculation | Audio-only cost/min | Lip-synced or automatic cost/min | What our test found |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Dubbing (our product) | From $9 | Direct $3/source min rate | No separate mode | $3.00 | 9.6s French dub, no watermark, automatic lip sync, embedded subtitles |
| HeyGen API, Precision | Pay as you go | 30 API credits/source min; official cash rate | Not compared here | $4.00 | In-account API pricing screen showed 30 credits/min for Precision lip sync |
| ElevenLabs Creator | $22 monthly | 9 included min of Automatic Dubbing v2 | Not compared here | $2.44 | Free German output was watermarked; video frames were unchanged |
| Rask Creator | $396 yearly ($33/mo equivalent) | 300 localization min/year | $1.32 | Not verified in our test | Trial dub worked; watermark and separate lip-sync step |
| Dubverse Pro | $18 monthly, displayed promotion | 50 credits; 4 credits/output min | $1.44 | Not available in tested editor | 2-minute clean trial export used exactly 8 credits |
| VEED Pro | $265 yearly ($22/mo equivalent) | 30,000 annual AI credits; dubbing rate not disclosed | Not calculable | Not calculable | Free account showed credits but opened checkout instead of dubbing |
All dollar-per-minute figures are our calculations from the displayed plan price and published or observed consumption rule. Taxes, unused allowance, add-ons, and manual review are excluded. “Not calculable” is intentional: a neat invented number is less useful than an honest gap.
Try AI Dubbing on your video See AI Dubbing plans
How dubbing credits become usable minutes
Start with this formula:
Allocated cost per minute = plan price ÷ minutes the plan can actually dub
Then adjust for the output you need. A provider may charge by source seconds, output minutes, API usage, credits, characters, or completed videos. Lip sync may cost more than audio-only translation. Five target languages usually mean paying for the same source duration five times.
There are also two different costs worth tracking:
- Allocated usage cost spreads the subscription price over every included minute. This is useful when you expect to use most of the allowance.
- Minimum cash commitment is what you must actually pay to complete the project. It exposes annual contracts and oversized plans that a per-minute calculation hides.
For example, Rask Creator works out to $1.32 per included minute, but its displayed $33 monthly equivalent is billed as $396 yearly. For a single one-minute job, $396 is the relevant purchasing decision.
Our calculations use the billing period visible in each screenshot and the regular plan price unless a live page displays a promotion as its current price. Prices can change; check the linked provider page before purchasing.
What each AI dubbing tool actually charges
AI Dubbing cost: $3 per minute with automatic lip sync
AI Dubbing pricing starts at $9. For this comparison, the current AI video dubbing rate is $3 per source minute, with automatic lip sync and embedded subtitles included. Each additional target language is another source minute, so the calculation is direct:
| Source duration | Target languages | AI Dubbing cost |
|---|---|---|
| 30 seconds | 1 | $1.50 |
| 10 minutes | 1 | $30 |
| 10 minutes | 3 | $90 |
That is $1 less per minute than HeyGen API Precision. The value proposition is a focused web workflow with automatic lip sync included, the exact credit total shown before generation, and no separate watermark-removal tier. In our test, a 9.6-second English ad became an 11.3-second French video in about two minutes. It retained a stereo track, included embedded French subtitles, and exported without a watermark. Our measured weakness was lower output loudness than the source, so normalization may be needed before publishing.
If you care more about a finished, lip-synced result than squeezing out the lowest advertised minute, upload a representative clip and see the exact credit cost before generating.
HeyGen API dubbing cost: $4 per minute with Precision lip sync
HeyGen’s API pricing guide describes its API as a standalone pay-as-you-go product, separate from Creator, Pro, and Business web-app subscriptions. It lists these video-translation prices per source minute:
- Speed, audio only: $1 per minute
- Speed with lip sync: $2 per minute
- Precision with lip sync: $4 per minute
We use $4 per minute in this comparison because Precision is HeyGen’s highest-quality API lip-sync mode and therefore the closest published match for an automatically lip-synced output. The in-account API pricing screen supplied for this review shows the underlying usage rates as 11 API credits per minute for Speed audio only, 16 for Speed lip sync, and 30 for Precision lip sync. Each new target language consumes another set of source minutes.
HeyGen’s consumer web app uses a different credit system. Its free plan allowed our separate 8-second Mandarin test to complete and download, but the watermark was burned into every frame. We do not combine those web-plan credits with the API rates above.
ElevenLabs cost: about $2.44 per Automatic Dubbing v2 minute
ElevenLabs pricing is unusually useful because its comparison table can be switched to Automatic Dubbing. On monthly billing, the regular Creator price is $22 and includes 9 minutes of Automatic Dubbing v2, or about $2.44 per included minute. The displayed extra-minute rate is $2.45.
Starter is $6 with 2 v2 minutes; Pro is $99 with 44; Scale is $299 with 133; and Business is $990 with 444. The per-minute result stays near $2.23–$3 across paid tiers rather than falling dramatically at volume.
Our earlier test uncovered a practical difference between a pricing allowance and a usable result. Dubbing v2 rejected an 8-second source because it was under the 11-second minimum. A later 15.2-second German dub completed, but the free export was watermarked and the source video frames were pixel-identical—new audio, not visual mouth retiming. That does not make it a bad voice workflow, but it changes what “automatic sync” means for a talking-head video.
Rask AI cost: $1.32 per localized minute on Creator
Rask AI pricing defaults to annual plans. Creator is shown as $33 per month billed $396 yearly for 300 minutes, or $1.32 per included localization minute. Creator Pro is $78 per month billed $936 yearly for 1,200 minutes, or $0.78 per minute. Business is $6,000 per year for 6,000 minutes, or $1 per minute.
The cheap Creator Pro rate illustrates why plan commitment matters: it is the lowest Rask unit rate, but it requires a $936 purchase. Rask also lists $3 additional minutes on Creator Pro and Business.
Our 14.4-second French trial output was audio-dubbed and watermarked. The editor exposed Original, Translated, and Lip-synced as separate states; we did not run the additional lip-sync operation, so we will not pretend its credit consumption or output quality was measured. Multi-speaker lip sync is listed from Creator Pro upward.
Dubverse cost: $1.44 per audio-dubbed minute on Pro
Dubverse pricing showed a promotional Pro rate of $18 per month for 50 credits and Supreme at $30 for 50 credits when we refreshed this article. Our live product test independently verified that dubbing consumes 4 credits per output minute: a two-minute job quoted 8 credits before generation and deducted exactly 8 afterward.
At the displayed $0.36 per Pro credit, one output minute costs $1.44. Supreme works out to $2.40 at $0.60 per credit, with voice cloning and a more advanced translation model included.
Our trial MP4 had no visible watermark and the editor offered MP4, WAV, SRT, WebVTT, TXT, and Final Cut Pro XML exports. The catch is visual: the completed editor exposed no lip-sync option, and the speaker’s mouth remained unchanged. Treat this as an audio-dubbing price, not a lip-synced-video price.
VEED cost: paid plan visible, dubbing rate not disclosed
VEED pricing showed annual equivalents of $12 per user per month for Creator, $22 for Pro, and $39 for Studio. Those are billed as $147, $265, and $465 yearly. The plans include 6,000, 30,000, and 180,000 annual AI credits respectively.
That looks precise, but VEED’s public plan table does not state how many editor credits one minute of AI dubbing consumes. VEED’s AI Dubbing page says the feature is available with monthly credits on Pro or custom Enterprise credits, so dividing $265 by 30,000 would calculate the price of a generic AI credit—not a dubbed minute.
Our free workspace showed a 240-credit balance, accepted a 9.6-second video, and let us configure French with a matched voice. Clicking Dub Video opened checkout rather than using those credits. We produced no output, so processing time, watermark behavior, and effective cost remain unmeasured.
The hidden costs of AI dubbing
One target language usually means one new charge
A ten-minute video dubbed into Spanish, French, and German is normally 30 billable language-minutes, not ten. ElevenLabs explicitly charges per output language, and HeyGen tells users to test one language before running the rest. Build your estimate as:
source duration × target languages × mode rate
Lip sync can change both the rate and the product
HeyGen API rises from $1 per minute for audio only to $2 for Speed lip sync or $4 for Precision lip sync. Rask exposes lip sync as a second operation. Dubverse offered no lip-sync action in our test. AI Dubbing includes automatic lip sync in its $3-per-source-minute rate.
Do not compare an audio replacement with a facially retimed video as though they are interchangeable outputs.
A watermark can make a free export unusable
Our free HeyGen, ElevenLabs, and Rask files carried visible watermarks. That is fine for evaluation and usually unusable for a client campaign. Dubverse’s trial export and AI Dubbing’s tested export were clean. VEED did not generate a file on the free account.
Subscription minimums distort small projects
Per-minute tables assume full utilization. Short projects are governed by the smallest plan that can finish the job. Annual billing is especially easy to misread: “$33/month” can mean a $396 charge today.
Corrections cost time even when regeneration is free
Named entities, product terms, numbers, pacing, and music balance all need review. A cheap generation that needs transcript repair, loudness normalization, or a second render may cost more in labor than the plan difference. Some providers refund failed jobs or allow free redubbing; verify that policy before a large batch.
For measured video, audio, subtitle, and watermark findings, see our full output comparison. For the broader feature decision, read Best AI Dubbing Software: 6 Tools Tested.
What a real project costs: three scenarios
These examples separate the value of consumed allowance from the minimum plan commitment. They use the rates above and assume every target language is billed separately.
A 30-second ad in five languages
This is 2.5 language-minutes.
| Tool | Calculated allowance used | Minimum displayed plan commitment | Important limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI Dubbing | $7.50 | $9 starting purchase | Automatic lip sync and embedded subtitles |
| HeyGen API, Precision | $10 | Pay as you go | Highest-quality API lip-sync mode |
| ElevenLabs Creator v2 | About $6.11 | $22 monthly | Our test did not visually retime the mouth |
| Rask Creator | $3.30 of annual allowance | $396 yearly | Audio localization rate; lip-sync use unverified |
| Dubverse Pro | $3.60; 10 credits | $18 monthly promotion | No lip sync in tested editor |
| VEED Pro | Not calculable | $265 yearly | Dubbing credit rate not published |
For a one-off ad, cash commitment matters more than the prettiest per-minute number. HeyGen’s API rate follows usage, while AI Dubbing and ElevenLabs require a monthly plan; the choice is chiefly about the output and workflow you need.
A 10-minute creator video in one language
| Tool | Estimated cost from allowance | Plan reality |
|---|---|---|
| AI Dubbing | $30 | Select the credit package shown at checkout |
| HeyGen API, Precision | $40 | Pay-as-you-go API usage |
| ElevenLabs Creator v2 | About $24.45 | 9 minutes included, plus one minute at the displayed $2.45 rate |
| Rask Creator | $13.20 of annual allowance | Requires $396 annual payment |
| Dubverse Pro | $14.40; 40 credits | Displayed 50-credit plan covers it |
| VEED Pro | Not calculable | Requires paid access; rate still undisclosed |
At these rates, AI Dubbing costs $30 and HeyGen API Precision costs $40. AI Dubbing is $1 less per minute and provides the web workflow we verified—automatic lip sync, embedded subtitles, and a clean export—without an API integration.
A 60-minute course in three languages
This is 180 language-minutes, where volume pricing and annual commitments dominate.
- HeyGen API: Precision lip sync costs $720 for 180 source language-minutes at $4 per minute.
- ElevenLabs: Business includes 444 v2 minutes for $990 per month. Allocating that allowance puts this job near $401.
- Rask: Creator Pro includes 1,200 yearly minutes for $936, putting 180 localized minutes at $140.40 of allowance. Confirm the separate lip-sync accounting before production.
- Dubverse: The job requires 720 credits at the verified four-credit rate. The displayed $0.36 Pro rate implies about $259, but a bulk quote should be confirmed.
- AI Dubbing: At $3 per source minute, the job costs $540. Confirm batch capacity before starting a project this large.
- VEED: The public plan page still does not expose enough dubbing-specific consumption data for a defensible estimate.
At the stated lip-sync rates, AI Dubbing costs $180 less than HeyGen API Precision for this batch. Rask remains cheaper for localization, but we did not verify the cost of its separate lip-sync step.
The cheapest AI dubbing option by use case
| Your priority | Best fit from this test | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest verified automatic lip-sync rate | AI Dubbing | $3 per source minute, including automatic lip sync |
| A genuinely free short test | HeyGen | Our 8-second dub completed; expect a watermark |
| Voice-platform workflow | ElevenLabs | Dubbing-specific minute table and broader voice tools |
| Annual localization volume and review | Rask AI | Low allocated rate and deeper reviewer controls |
| Transcript editing without visual lip sync | Dubverse | Verified four-credit rate and clean trial export |
| Dubbing inside an existing video editor | VEED | Sensible only after confirming your account’s dubbing rate |
| Short, automatically lip-synced publishable video | AI Dubbing | $3/minute, one workflow, clean tested export, and embedded subtitles |
If the last row matches your project, try AI Dubbing with the same kind of clip you plan to publish. Use a clear 10–30 second sample with a visible speaker, one proper name, one number, and background audio. That reveals more than a vendor demo.
Frequently asked questions
How much does AI dubbing cost?
In our September 2026 comparison, calculable rates ranged from about $0.78 per localized minute on Rask Creator Pro to $4 per source minute for HeyGen API Precision lip sync. AI Dubbing costs $3 per source minute with automatic lip sync included. Some providers are pay as you go; others require monthly or annual plans.
Is there free AI dubbing?
Yes, but free rarely means publishable without restrictions. HeyGen produced a watermarked eight-second output in our test. Rask’s trial output was also watermarked. Dubverse produced an apparently clean trial MP4. ElevenLabs offered limited free dubbing but imposed a minimum source length and watermark. VEED showed free workspace credits but blocked the dubbing operation behind checkout. AI Dubbing gives new accounts one-time trial credits for testing a short clip.
Does AI dubbing charge extra for lip sync or more languages?
Usually. Every target language normally consumes a fresh allowance. Lip sync may also raise the rate or require another action: HeyGen API charges $4 per source minute for Precision lip sync; Rask separates the lip-sync step; Dubverse exposed no lip-sync action in our test. AI Dubbing charges $3 per source minute with automatic lip sync included.
The bottom line
The cheapest AI dubbing plan is not automatically the cheapest path to a publishable video. Compare the cash commitment, target-language multiplier, watermark, export rights, lip-sync method, and correction time—not just the headline subscription.
AI Dubbing costs $3 per source minute with automatic lip sync, compared with $4 for HeyGen API Precision. Rask offers lower localization rates with annual commitments and a separate lip-sync workflow. For a short project where you want one focused web workflow with automatic lip sync, embedded subtitles, and a clean tested export, try AI Dubbing or compare its monthly plans.
HeyGen API pricing was refreshed on September 13, 2026; the remaining provider prices were verified on September 12. Provider pricing changes frequently, so recheck before buying.